Why can’t he be my cousin?

February 3, 2006

I dreamt that Phillip Seymour Hoffman was a famous pastry chef, and I was in love with him. Later, he asked me to housesit for him while he and his Chinese wife and their child went away, but the cops came while they were gone and I had to pour his drugs (which were firey red pellets) into boiling water and pretend I was making chili. He wasn’t happy with me. And I was really high from the vapors.

2 Responses to “Why can’t he be my cousin?”

  1. jclay said

    Back in the day (1999 or so) a very cute “hip chick” young friend of mine brought up the fun little game of “who would play yourself in a movie about yourself” She said the then semi-unknown Phillip Seymour Hoffman was a perfect fit for my biogrofilm. Once the identification of the “tech hippie guy from Twister” clued everyone else in, the casting was unanimous. I was delighted. For years with the long hair and the extra weight, I had been labeled Meatloaf or on my loud opinionated days, Sam Kennison. Not too flattering, but on some level, not necessarily an insult.

    Health, wisdom and passionate stillness seem much more,… appealing.

    Why cousin?
    And just for the frivolous internet whoop de doo of it all, who do you think should play you in a movie about yourself?

  2. jennitive said

    Why cousin: My last name used to be Hoffman, and I think he and I have similar eyes. And I just want to meet him so badly.

    Movie about me…hmm. Most of the people I’m said to resemble are much older than I am (Rachel Griffiths for example) so it doesn’t really work. Even Pauley Perrette, who I get all the time now because of my black hair, was born in 1969. Anyone else reading this thread have a nomination?

Leave a Reply

