To Jclay et al

March 20, 2006

I finally got a chance to rent The Constant Gardener. I’d been only lukewarm about seeing it, even though I loved City of God, because I read that it was written by mass-market paperback king John LeCarre. I didn’t care for the movie, particularly. The acting was very act-y, the story was limp. I’d have preferred to watch a documentary on drug companies’ influence on healthcare in Africa. The movie is simultaneously a love story, a revenge story, a political expose and a thriller, and it was, for me, too much motive with not enough weight.

4 Responses to “To Jclay et al”

  1. p-nitent said

    constant gardner sucks rocks. george washington does not.

  2. jclay said

    I think you hit it on the head. A well done documentary on the subject would’ve definitely made more of an intellectual impact. The movie did kind of just lay there. I did like Rachel Wiess. ‘Course I’m a sucker for pregnant nudity on film, well, actually just about ANY nudity, on anything. I have trouble TOTALLY trashing a film because I know how difficult it is to bring it all together especially when there is a studio involved. It amazes me that any
    film ever gets made. I actually have to watch a film a few times wearing different hats before I can really make any confident analysis. The Constant Gardener for the most part left me uninspired, a little depressed, and curious about the reality of such incidents. Oh, and a little warm and googly from seeing pregnant nudity.

    What’s with George Washington?

  3. jennitive said

    See, maybe what I need is a greater appreciation for nudity. Not that I don’t like it, but it doesn’t enthrall me much. If Jclay’s any example, it could save many a boring film.

    I am incredibly opinionated about movies, much to the chagrin of friends and family. In fact, when I went to college I entered communications studies with the burning hope to someday become a film critic. I would have made a horrible one, though, because my focus tends to be language and theme and acting prowess. I love good visuals but could never describe a film shot-for-shot. Also, I can’t pay much attention to a chase or fight scene unless there are swords and/or attractive people involved.

    Yeah, Peter, what IS with George Washington? Referencing the recent Metafilter post?

  4. p-rawn said

    no idea re: mefi & george washington, but i recently saw it again.

    it’s a great movie in every way that constant gardner isn’t. it’s a beautiful movie and makes me dream of great purple distances.

Leave a Reply

