Mele for the win.

July 27, 2008

This month I discovered my new favorite wildflower, a purple/pink star in the midst of buttercups and clover, so tiny that it took me several minutes to locate the others in the yard, hiding in the trees’ shade and under a picnic table.

I thought I’d exhausted the guidebooks and internet, but Mele found it here.

I somehow knew it would be an invasive species. Extend the metaphor.

My photo, from the first day:

5 Responses to “Mele for the win.”

  1. RJ said

    apparently your invasive weed is becoming rare here in the UK

    “In GB Deptford Pink is classified as Vulnerable. It is specially protected under Schedule 8 of the the Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981. Having once been widespread, it was reduced to 34 sites by 1970 and is now known from only 13 to 15 sites.”

  2. Fig said

    Do you live in a roadside lot?

  3. Jenn said

    I don’t live in a roadside lot. Yet?

    It was in my parents’ blissfully unkempt yard.

  4. Jenn said

    I didn’t know you were British, RJ!

  5. RJ said

    Yup, I’m a limey ;)

Leave a Reply

