Fluorescent and starry

January 12, 2009

In high school I was as I am now: fairly smart but without ambition.  When I got my D in Algebra II in 1oth grade, I put math behind me, and had a free period at the end of the day as a junior. Sometimes I could drive home, eat Ramen, and come back for my friends, but on the days Chris Wilkes drove, I’d have to sit in his car for 50-plus minutes until everyone else in the carpool finished class.  And when I did, I would listen to New Adventures In High Fi, on cassette, alone in the parking lot in a blue Chevy Nova.

So, thanks to Fig-face, today has sounded a lot like 1997.

(That’s what keeps me down.)

Leave a Reply

