Non-believers

January 20, 2009

I don’t mind the phrasing. I am just thankful to have been included.

7 Responses to “Non-believers”

  1. jclay said

    Baby steps. A black man elected President,… actual separation of church and state, I have ANOTHER dream.

  2. Jammer said

    A question, American Jennitivites! His mom was white, his pop was black. If he were a Brit, here in the UK I think we’d call him ‘mixed-race’. How come in the US he’s categorised ‘black’? Honest question, think there may be a cultural difference here. Or is it political?

  3. jennitive said

    If the one drop rule (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/One-drop_rule)can be exclusionary, it has to be inclusionary, too.

  4. Jammer said

    Interesting. If I called Pres O ‘mixed race’, would that be taken as an insult? I can’t get my head round this.

  5. Jenn said

    My problem with “mixed race” is that it connotes a disregard or presumption of the cultures that are “mixed together.” If Obama is “mixed race,” isn’t my half-Japanese friend, as well? It’s vague and weird, to my eye and ear.

  6. Jammer said

    Interesting to get that perspective, thank you.

Leave a Reply

