“…and I’m bored”

February 19, 2011

Axl Rose is a looming archetype for me, because Appetite for Destruction came out when I was 7. At the time I bought it, I used a green crayon to mark out all the “fuck”s in the liner notes, and I assumed that the Nighttrain was a means of vehicular conveyance and that  Mr. Brownstone was a pesky human neighbor.

He’s weird and violent and I miss wondering where he is, rather than seeing the results of piled-on years. But I dream I AM him, with regularity, and want to meet him as badly now as I did in 1987.

3 Responses to ““…and I’m bored””

  1. RJ said

    that makes me feel old…I was 17. Saw them live just as they became the biggest thing on the planet.
    A couple of people died that day..scary doesn’t come close to describing it.

  2. jclay said

    You are bored. Your prolificacy has waned. Other interests?

Leave a Reply

